---
title: How to mark a patient as deceased in Legend
description: "# Marking a patient as deceased in Legend If a patient has passed away, users can mark the patient as deceased in Legend so that they don't receive any automated emails or texts from Legend. When a patient is marked…"
url: "https://legendehr.com/docs/how-to-mark-a-patient-as-deceased-in-legend/"
updated: "2025-01-30"
category: LegendEHR / Patient
---

# How to mark a patient as deceased in Legend

# Marking a patient as deceased in Legend

If a patient has passed away, users can mark the patient as deceased in Legend so that they don't receive any automated emails or texts from Legend. When a patient is marked deceased:

 

- Their entire balance is written off
- Their upcoming appointments are cancelled and appointment notes are generated stating the reason
- Their patient portal account is deactivated in case they're a single user
- If more than one people are associated with the patient portal account, others users won't be able to access the deceased patient's records

 

**Note:** Activating Deceased against a patient is permanent and irreversible. Once done, the above changes cannot be reverted.

- Go to patient profile
- Click on **Demographics**
- You'll see a red button named **Deceased**
- Click on that button![](https://legendehr.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/01/Deceased-button-1024x437.png)

 

- When clicked, you'll be prompted by the system to confirm your action by checking an undertaking that states the outcome of the action

 

![](https://legendehr.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/01/Deceased-undertaking.png)

- If you click Yes, the patient will be marked as Deceased
- You'll see a red label Deceased next to the patient banner

![](https://legendehr.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/01/Deceased-banner-1024x444.png)

## Upcoming Appointments

When a patient is marked deceased:

- All the upcoming appointments are cancelled
- A note is automatically generated with all the cancelled appts., stating the reason for cancellation.

![](https://legendehr.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/01/deceased-cancelled-appt-1024x477.png)

## Patient Portal Deactivation

Upon marking a patient deceased:

- If the patient had a stand-alone patient portal account, it is deactivated
- If the patient shared patient portal with other users, the other users will not be able to access deceased patient's information through the portal
- (Deceased) will appear with the name of the deceased patient in the shared account

![](https://legendehr.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/01/deceased-portal-account-1024x383.png)

![](https://legendehr.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/01/deceased-portal-1024x488.png)

![](https://legendehr.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/01/deceased-shared-portal-1024x361.png)

## Billing outcomes

When a patient is marked deceased:

- Entire balance is written off
- A memo note is generated on patient's Billing History, stating that balance has been written off due to patient's passing
- Notes are also generated against all the service lines that were written off
- If insurance claims for a deceased patient had already been sent out, the Billing team will see an alert on the posting screens

![](https://legendehr.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/01/Deceased-memo-e1737724529553-1024x406.png)

![](https://legendehr.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/01/deceased-service-line.png)

![](https://legendehr.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/01/Deceased-eob-1024x484.png)
